Skip to the content

Automatic interstate trade license recognition delayed until July 2021

Automatic mutual recognition of state and territory occupational licences will now not kick in until July 1 next year, rather than January 1 as originally announced.

Australian National Cabinet meeting
Australian National Cabinet meeting

The National Cabinet released a statement that bringing the changes into law requires “draft legislation to amend the Commonwealth Mutual Recognition Act 1992” and that this will be released by the end of the year with a view to “facilitate automatic mutual recognition commencing by 1 July 2021”.

Automatic mutual recognition will enable individuals who hold an occupational licence in one Australian state or territory to do equivalent work in another Australian state or territory under the same licence, making it easier and less expensive for businesses and tradespeople to operate across borders.

This is seen as an important part of Australia’s economic recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Free Industry News

Stay up to date with the latest industry news with our free monthly newsletter!